top of page

My Life in a nutshell


Hello everyone this is your favorite Diabetic Country Girl here to just tell you about some of my family.. First of all my favorite thing is this entire world is my family.

My daughter Arizona is my oldest she is 19 soon will be 20 in June. She has been sort of my sickly child. She was diagnosed with Scoliosis when she was around the age of 14 and had to have surgery to have bars put in her back as to straighten her back. She went from a 30% curve to an 80% curve in one year. She and I spent a week in the hospital at Morgantown West Virginia. She and I were home one week when the do-ratio came through our little community and basically took everything down it its path and put the power out for around 13 days. We are country people so the power being out is not only a normal thing around her but we know how to survive. We took our baths in the near by creek, I did the laundry by hand and hanging them on our clothes line to dry. We flushed and did laundry by using buckets to get the water out of our pond. We had a small generator that held about 2 gallon of gas that we used to have fans, since it was in the middle of summer it was seriously hot. I cooked on a wood fire in the yard. We burn wood in the winter so we had a steady supply of wood. We had to buy water to clean her incision with, we were afraid to use the creek water on her in fear of infection would set in. She later was diagnosed with Juvenile Myclonic Epilepsy. This is where she does not take full fledged seizures , she only takes small jerks. This was a roller coaster ride all in its own. But she is now controlled for the most part and she still has some pain in her back but they told her she would never be pain free which sucks. She had to drop out of school because we live 36 miles from her school and the bus ride with the flashing lights would throw her into a seizure. They have no home school program where we live that will allow the child to graduate so we are going to work on her GED and get her into drivers ed and get her license so maybe she can find a job .

Britney is my youngest she is 15 and is the smart one lol. She keeps a grade point average over 3.5 year around and plans to go to college for animated design. When she was born she was born with only one kidney. When she was about 3 weeks old we had her in the hospital for pneumonia at that time she was diagnosed with bronchial asthma. However she has never let that get her down, she was a cheerleader in middle school and was also in the band. She played the flute. Now she is in High school and doing well.

My husband, Steven, is my rock. He works 40+ hours a week. He has a bad back but pushes through the pain to support his family. He is an auto and diesel mechanic. He works very hard to make sure his family has what we need. I met him back in 2000 and we married in 2001 and I would not change any of that for the world. He is a very avid hunter and fisherman, and i love that about him cause once again providing for his family. We married on Valentines day so our 15 year anniversary is coming up.

We live on a small farm that my mom left to me. I live in a log house my mom and dad built when I was very young. There is a lot of work to be done to it but that is how it goes when you own a home. We have 50+ chickens, 5 cats, 9 dogs and now 15 puppies that I hope to find homes for when they are old enough. I also want to raise pigs again for slaughter and want to raise rabbits, goats and turkeys all for slaughter. I want to have my own little homestead here.

Well that is my life pretty much in a nut shell. I try to live simple and not above my means and always be humble and kind........


bottom of page